I Am Cool


I am cool.  I know that I am cool.  How do I know this? I have defined myself as cool. Therefor, I am cool. I do what I want, when I want to. I do not allow society to dictate my actions.  I cut my hair like P!NK. (She’s quite cool, too.)  I say “Fuck” when I want to. (No, swearing doesn’t make you cool, but at just the right times, it can make you very funny.) I do not let others tell me what to wear (fashion), what size to be (I’ll always have these “thick” genes), where to shop (I don’t like Abercrombie & Fitch), what pet to have (spiders anyone?).  I live, buy, go, wear, do what I want to. 

Oh, don’t take this as a case of extreme narcissism.  It’s a case of self.  Who I am.  What I like. I don’t compare myself to others.  There will always be someone skinnier, someone fatter, someone richer, someone with better hair, better skin, less freckles, more freckles, bigger feet, smaller nose, fancier house, crappier car, bigger zits, smellier farts: someone different.  It is our differences that make us so cool!

Know, too, this is not always easy!  Some days I would like to be richer, skinnier, curlier, loveable, more X, less Y.  That is human – normal.  I don’t always feel cool. I don’t always know what I want.  Sometimes I can’t even decide on what to have for lunch.  Many days I don’t want to exert any energy.

Other days it is a piece of cake.  Chocolate cake with chocolate frosting and chocolate gooey insides.  Unless of course I see myself in front of a mirror immediately prior.  There are ways that I keep myself grounded in my coolness.  I remember that EVERYONE is amazingly the coolest in their own world, it’s not just me.  I remember to rejoice and be happy for them in their successes: promotions, wins, weight changes, new purchases.  I share their grief and sadness in their burdens: illness, loss, grief.  I remind myself of the various scriptures that tell me how special I am:

Jer. 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Psalm 139:14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.

Oh, there are lots more.

Are you cool? YES!!!! You are the coolest person in your world!  Figure out what you like & stand strong for it. Don’t let the bullies of the world push you down, because they can only push you down if you allow them to!

Don’t compare: Share!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Scarlet Brooks
    Sep 05, 2014 @ 19:11:26

    The Lord has plans for you Mary. He plans for her to cut her hair like Miley Cirus and to use the word “fuck.”
    Love you!
    +ScarletBrooks

A GIRL AND HER BATS

a girl's journey into the love of bats

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Words From a Work In Progress

Sharing lessons learned on this journey called Life

After Narcissistic Abuse

There is Light, Life & Love

Love—Life—OM

Support for survivors of domestic violence, rape and fraud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

