Party Recovery


August 19, 2014 was a year since my divorce. What better way to mark a new beginning than a party?  Retail recovery? Naw.  Party Recovery for me!  This extrovert needed (desperately) time with her energy source for renewal and rejuvenation. So, I scheduled & planned my Annual Summer Celebration.  A cookout gathering I give as my birthday gift to myself.  Time with friends is the best!  I started this tradition about 10 years ago. I’m not sure of the exact date.  And knowing myself, I have never touted the year number as part of the title (First Annual, 8th Annual, etc) because I don’t remember those sorts of things.  So, I just call it my “Annual Summer Celebration” There was one (for sure), maybe two, years the party did not happen due to extenuating circumstances.

This year, it was going to happen! I had a venue (no matter what state of disrepair it was in) and I had the need.  I told everyone about it, even going so far as to making a Facebook event, so I could not renege.

The party transformed my little farmhouse into a home filled with love, joy, peace and lots of laughter.

Here are a few pictures:

IMG_2526

Me at the grill

IMG_2538

Conspiring over the fire

IMG_2540

Me & mom I have my utensils of mass convection

IMG_2543

Urban Art on the Outbuilding

IMG_2544

Frying pan in the flower bed: Georgia tradition

IMG_2547

Front Porch – It’s Beach O’clock!

IMG_2549

My daughter – of legal age!

IMG_2556

Princess Buttercup pleading for respite from the kids!

IMG_2557

Laura & mom deep in conversation

IMG_2558

Evening fire – every party needs a bonfire, even if it is 85 degrees outside.

IMG_2614

Live entertainment

IMG_2617

Hair by Towel (She’s gonna’ kill me!)

IMG_2640

Mossy Rock

IMG_2643

A building in the woods

 

IMG_1408

Hammock Time!

IMG_1410

Hillary

IMG_1412

Lauren. Selfie? Good thing her nose is clean!

IMG_1414

I have about a zillion of this picture of Lauren through the years. It’s her signature selfie

IMG_1426

Scarlet and the Happy Bottle

IMG_2548

Kids – discarded watermelon rind….

IMG_2545

Mimi (aka MooMoo) drawing in my book

The kids had so much fun!!!

 

IMG_2537

Lucas & Jax

IMG_2534

Austin

IMG_2525

Jax lost in wonder…

IMG_2522

Fun running!!!!

IMG_2675

Jax played me a song on my new guitar. At least one of us can play it!

IMG_2605

Trying to move a rock – teamwork!

IMG_2602

Success!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mojo911
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 15:30:12

    Reblogged this on Adventures in Updating and commented:

    Instead of a whole new entry, ya’ll get the reblog. We had a great time & the farmhouse was transformed into a home.

  2. Anonymous
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 16:13:54

    I’m going to kill you for posting that picture of ME.
    I need to lose weight and I thought you were my friend. Why didn’t you tell me???

    • mojo911
      Aug 26, 2014 @ 16:41:56

      Because I knew the answer – fortunately, you replied anonymous – so no one knows who said that. Besides, if my pics are up, so are yours!!!! Muwahahahahahaha – we can lose weight together.

Escaping Domestic Violence: The Road Less Traveled

By: Jennifer Alyssa Sheerer (Hanson)

A GIRL AND HER BATS

a girl's journey into the love of bats

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Words From a Work In Progress

Sharing lessons learned on this journey called Life

After Narcissistic Abuse

There is Light, Life & Love

Love—Life—OM

Support for survivors of domestic violence, rape and fraud

