Burger B’adventure!


Ok, I found this page via the “F” page (facebook):

Best Southern Burger Spots

And through my magnificent brain, I decided we should visit these spots. OK, maybe not all of them (but maybe), we’ll give it a shot. “Great idea” everyone said.  Yet no one came up with a plan to actually implement the idea.  So, I did!

I made a public event on facebook, complete with a “borrowed” internet image of The Varsity. I decided to start with The Varsity because it is one of my most favorite places and an Atlanta icon.  Everyone knows where it is. So I made an executive decision.  I decided on today (8/10) because the other chick who was game (Laura) had this Saturday open. 1:00. Maybe they wouldn’t be so busy by then.  Ha!  Silly me!  The Varsity is ALWAYS busy!

I never get the burger when I go. I always order chili dogs w/ onions, onion rings & coke. Today I got the burger for the adventure.  I decided on a chili-slaw-onion burger (with the mandatory onion rings and coke). Based on the Swisher Scale of Burgers, it rates a 3 out of 10.  Angie gave it 5 out of 10 based on the environment, tradition & history.  Well, based on that, it’d get a 9/10 from me.  But I was judging the burger only.  Now I know why I always get the chili dogs. The burger was just a pre-processed overcooked dry patty.  The chili & slaw were fabulous in typical Varsity fashion. 

The plan is a joint a month. I don’t know if we’ll actually have a schedule (a particular Saturday a month, or whatever).  So, until I get bored with it, that’s the plan. I am going to make a public FB event for folks to try a target restaurant on the list.  Angie did tell me of a couple other local places that had great burgers that were not on the list, so we may try some of those joints, too.  If you can meet us, great – if not, maybe next month.  Like Laura – who unknowingly started this by forwarding the original link- who woke up sick this morning and was not able to join us on the maiden voyage.  We missed you Laura!!! After 30 years, it would’ve been great to see you again! Hope you feel better by next month!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. mary swisher
    Aug 09, 2014 @ 16:58:18

    Who is this person in the video?

Escaping Domestic Violence: The Road Less Traveled

By: Jennifer Alyssa Sheerer (Hanson)

A GIRL AND HER BATS

a girl's journey into the love of bats

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Words From a Work In Progress

Sharing lessons learned on this journey called Life

After Narcissistic Abuse

There is Light, Life & Love

Love—Life—OM

Support for survivors of domestic violence, rape and fraud

