In the Beginning


In the beginning, there was a young lady and an old man.  They met coincidentally at a professional conference in a land far far away they had each journeyed to for continuing education.

It was me – Mojo – and Daddy Booboo.

A little back history about me:  apparently I have “Daddy Issues”. I’ve always been attracted to older men.  I don’t know why.  I used to think (justify?) that it was because guys my age were only interested in getting high (drinking, partying) and getting laid (we know what I mean by that).  They weren’t interested in “a relationship”.  However, I didn’t know what a “relationship” was – I didn’t start dating (screwing) until I was 18.  I got pregnant within 4 months.  He was 14 years older than me.  At least I had the smarts not to marry him.  He did the chivalrous thing and offered, but I did the smart thing said no.  I dated another guy that was 18 years older than me.  My first husband was young by my standards, he was only 8 years older than me. We were married for a total of 2 1/2 years, being separated for a year of that. After him, I took a break.  I dated no one until I met Daddy Booboo 2 years later.

I have since learned that Mojo and Narcissist are drawn together like magnets. Powerful MRI kinda’ magnets.

The first time I met him, I was wearing a t-shirt, Umbro shorts (remember those? the original type with the checkered pattern in the rip-stop thin nylon – I had a pair in every color!) and my Birkenstocks.  The original, two strap beasts.  No makeup.  No wow factor – just me, my cute precious self.  He was in his bottle of cologne, gold bracelets, ironed underwear and preppy loafers.  He had a sexy comb-over covered with a man’s version of Aquanet. He was funny & charming & attentive.  We shared stories of our woes and done-wrongs by our previous spouses.  Spouses?  Spousi? English is such a confusing language.

He made it known he would be interested in more than chit-chat if I was.  But I wasn’t that kind of girl! I would at least wait until the second night! And, I had no makeup on…wow, he must see the inside of my fabulous self.

Daddy Booboo was on the conference board of directors of this pathetically small little professional organization – but he thought he was all that.  He’s been the President, Secretary…heck, he’d done it all, hadn’t he?  Of course he had.  He always is so very important in his own mind.  I was young and impressionable, even if I did think I knew it all.  I was working for a law enforcement agency.  He was a cop & director of his own department within his city. Sigh…

The next night a group of us went out to dinner.  Daddy Booboo had to drive – of course. He had to quietly show off his meticulous Jeep Cherokee.  I was sitting in the back seat and thought “I could never have a relationship with this man, you can eat off his floorboards.”  Yes, that is a true statement. I should’ve listened to myself.

We talked more that night.  Yes, talk is all we did.  He told me what a wonderful boss he was.  How accomplished he was. How smart. How funny. How generous.  Oh, yes…. he was the Pied Piper and I was a little girl who blissfully swallowed everything he said, gleefully dancing behind him.

He got called home the next day by a deviant employee who could not behave while Daddy Booboo was out of town.  So, he had to charge home and save the day.  I was enamored.

Comments are closed.

Escaping Domestic Violence: The Road Less Traveled

By: Jennifer Alyssa Sheerer (Hanson)

A GIRL AND HER BATS

a girl's journey into the love of bats

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Words From a Work In Progress

Sharing lessons learned on this journey called Life

After Narcissistic Abuse

There is Light, Life & Love

Love—Life—OM

Support for survivors of domestic violence, rape and fraud

